Yadegar Asisi

LEIPZIG 1813

Amidst the Confusion of the Battle of the Nations

This Panorama is dedicated to the battle that took place in the area surrounding Leipzig in October 1813. Some 600,000 soldiers from across Europe gathered in front of the gates of the city of 35,000 people to drive Napoleon and the French army from the lands he had attempted to conquer in the Battle of the Nations.

Rather than creating a battle Panorama in the 19th century style, Yadegar Asisi has produced a monumental piece of art that dramatises the events from the perspective of Leipzig and its citizens. The scenery immediately following the end of the battle is depicted across 3,500 square metres. Visitors can observe the activities taking place in the city centre and neighbouring region – where the most intense fighting took place, and homesteads and villages are still burning – as if they were standing on the roof of the St. Thomas Church. The 1813 architecture displays the relatively intact city of Leipzig – that nonetheless had to cope with countless dead, wounded and stranded soldiers and civilians from the destroyed surrounding environs. The area is dominated by throngs of people and chaos, from the advancing victors and retreating French army to the many injured in open hospitals.  

The Panorama deals with the question of how it was possible that the largest battle in history at the time could suddenly take place in front of the gates of the university town, trade fair centre and commercial hub, leading to decades of destitution and misery in the pulsing city. It is a tragedy representative of countless war disasters before and since.

Past exhibition locations of LEIPZIG 1813

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
2013–2015

Yadegar Asisi

LEIPZIG 1813

In den Wirren der Völkerschlacht

Das Panorama widmet sich den kriegerischen Ereignissen, die im Oktober 1813 im Umland von Leipzig stattfanden. Etwa 600.000 Soldaten aus ganz Europa fanden sich 1813 vor den Toren der damals etwa 35.000 Einwohner zählenden Stadt ein, um Napoleon und die französische Armee in der ‚Völkerschlacht bei Leipzig‘ aus den eroberten Ländern in Europa zu vertreiben.

Yadegar Asisi hat indes kein Schlachtenpanorama im Stil des 19. Jahrhunderts kreiert, sondern ein monumentales Kunstwerk geschaffen, das die dramatischen Ereignisse aus Sicht von Leipzig und seiner Bürger thematisiert: Auf etwa 3.500 Quadratmetern entrollt sich die Szenerie unmittelbar nach Ende der Schlacht. Wie vom Dach der Thomaskirche am Stadtrand betrachten die Besucher das Geschehen im Stadtzentrum und im Umland, wo die heftigsten Kämpfe stattfanden und noch Gehöfte und Dörfer brennen. In der Architektur von 1813 zeigt sich das vergleichsweise unversehrte Leipzig, das aber zig Tote, Verwundete und Gestrandete aus dem zerstörten Umland zu bewältigen hat. Es herrscht großes Gedränge und Chaos rund um die einziehenden Sieger, die abziehenden Franzosen und die vielen Verletzten in offenen Lazaretten.  

Dem Ansatz zugrunde liegt die Frage, wie es sein konnte, dass die damals größte Schlacht in der Geschichte unversehens vor den Toren der Universitäts-, Messe- und Handelsstadt stattfinden konnte und für Jahrzehnte Not und Elend über die pulsierende Bürgerstadt brachte? Steht diese Tragödie nicht für zig andere vorher und nachher?

Vergangene Ausstellungsorte von LEIPZIG 1813

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
2013 – 2015