Yadegar Asisi

EVEREST

Experience between Expedition and Tradition

The 360° EVEREST Panorama, started in 2003, was Yadegar Asisi’s pilot project for all subsequent large-scale panoramas. 2003 represented the 50th anniversary of the first ascent to the peak in 1953 by Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay. The exhibition depicts the highest mountain in the world with its 8,000 km pinnacle from the 6,000 km high Western Cwm in the Himalayas. This was the setting of the last base camp before the final climb to the top of Mount Everest.

The Panorama reveals an abstract and seemingly endless landscape of icy mountains around Everest in unique interplay of colours, with hues ranging from light blue to aquamarine, snow white to grey all the way to pitch black. Visitors get an inside look at a hostile yet fascinating other world. Signs of life are few and far between, and include individual birds in the air or hikers on the way to the top that look like tiny black dots in the distance.

Conceptually, the project also deals with contrasting approaches to the highest mountain in the world: while in far eastern Buddhist culture, Mount Everest is viewed as a thing to be revered and left unspoilt, the west assumes the world is meant to be measured and conquered.

Past exhibition locations of EVEREST

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
2003–2005

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
First half of the year 2012

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
First half of the year 2013

Yadegar Asisi

EVEREST

Erlebnis zwischen Expedition und Tradition

Das 360°-Panorama EVEREST war das Pilotprojekt für alle nachfolgenden Großpanoramen von Yadegar Asisi ab dem Jahr 2003. Anlass war der 50. Jahrestag der Erstbesteigung 1953 durch Edmund Hillary und Tenzing Norgay. Es präsentiert den höchsten Berg der Erde mit den umgebenden 8.000er Gipfeln so, als wären die Betrachter im 6.000 Meter hohen „Tal des Schweigens“ im Himalaya. Dort befindet sich das letzte Basislager vor dem finalen Aufstieg auf den Gipfel des Mount Everest.

Im Panorama offenbart sich eine entrückte und scheinbar grenzenlose, eisige Bergwelt rund um den Mount Everest in einem einzigartigen Farbspiel: Komponenten sind Farbtöne von Hellblau bis Aquamarin oder von Schneeweiß über Grautöne bis hin zu Tiefschwarz. Darin manifestiert sich eine für den Menschen lebensfeindliche und dennoch faszinierende Gegenwelt. Nur vereinzelt sind Lebewesen wie ein Vogel in der Luft oder als schwarze Punkte erkennbare Bergsteiger auf dem Weg zum Gipfel auszumachen.

Konzeptueller Ansatz für die Beschäftigung mit dem Projekt sind auch die gegensätzlichen Herangehensweisen im Umgang mit dem höchsten Berg der Erde: Während sich in der fernöstlich-buddhistischen Kultur die Achtung vor dem Mount Everest darin ausdrückt, dass man ihn ehrfurchtsvoll betrachtet und eben nicht erobert, geht der westliche Ansatz davon aus, dass die Welt vermessen und bezwungen werden muss.

Vergangene Ausstellungsorte von EVEREST

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
2003–2005

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
Erste Jahreshälfte 2012

PANOMETER LEIPZIG
Erste Jahreshälfte 2013